Effective January 1, 2015, the Florida minimum wage will increase from $7.93 to $8.05 per hour. The increase is required by a Florida constitutional amendment establishing a minimum wage for the state, and requiring that the minimum wage be adjusted based on inflation and the Consumer Price Index.
The increased minimum wages for 2015 also applies to tipped employees. Tipped employees must receive a direct wage of at least $5.03 per hour, in addition to tips received. In order for an employer to take a tip credit (i.e. pay a tipped employee $3.02 less than the full Florida minimum wage), the tipped employee’s tips must make up the difference between the reduced direct wage and the full minimum wage, and the employer must inform the employee of its intent to take a tip credit. If a tipped employee’s direct wage plus tips do not equal the full $8.05 per hour minimum wage, the employer must make up the shortage.
An employee who has not been paid the correct minimum wage has the right to bring a lawsuit in court to recover unpaid wages, liquidated damages, attorney’s fees and costs. If your employer has violated your wage rights, call a wage and hour lawyer at Bober & Bober, P.A. at 800-995-WAGE (9523) for a free consultation.