DON’T BE A VICTIM OF WAGE THEFT!
RECOVERING OVERTIME & MINIMUM WAGES
A number of laws protect workers against wage theft in the form of unpaid overtime and minimum wages. The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) is a federal law that requires certain employees to be paid time and one-half (1 ½) their regular hourly rate for hours worked over forty (40) in each workweek. Even employees who are paid a salary, instead of an hourly rate, may be entitled to overtime pay. Some employees are forced to work off-the-clock, or are illegally paid cash “under-the-table” at the regular hourly rate (i.e. straight time) for overtime hours.
Both the FLSA and Florida law require covered employers to pay a minimum wage. Florida’s minimum wage law offers more protections and requires a higher minimum wage than the FLSA. Under the Florida minimum wage law, employees may be able to collect for up to five (5) years of unpaid minimum wages, but only up to three (3) years under the FLSA. For information on common ways employers cheat their employees out of their wages, please visit the Wage and Hour FAQs section. If your employer is not paying you minimum wages or overtime, contact Bober & Bober, P.A.’s wage attorneys for a free consultation.
WAGE & HOUR FAQs
Florida Minimum Wage
|Date Work Performed||Florida Minimum Wage|
|9/30/2022 – 9/29/2023||$11.00|
|9/30/2023 – 9/29/2024||$12.00|
|9/30/2024 – 9/29/2025||$13.00|
|9/30/2025 – 9/29/2026||$14.00|